Asian Tofu Salad

Hmmmm.. this is a very interesting story. I was very hungry after attending my interview for a third time with a big bank that later went bankrupt and well you know what’d I say, thanks to not hire promising candidates like me :p.

Anyways, I was off mood after the interview guy asked me this stupidest question on earth. “What is your second biggest failure in life, remember not the first biggest but the second biggest ?” with that smirk on his face (“avaru intelligentaana question ketutaaraamla :-/”) a satisfaction that he had funked me with a brilliant question. I just told him the same thing as my first biggest failure I mean how would he know I was repeating cuz he never asked and I never told him.

Nevertheless, my hubby decided to take me out to lunch to cheer me up after this disasterous interview and said we are trying something new. He said we were having salad for lunch. Now a tambram like me, who has always had rice and rotis for lunch while the salad(pronounced as “salaadu” if you know what I mean ;0) served as a starter (read cucumber, carrots, raddish)didnt understand how would a salad suffice as a meal.

Believe me after that, I have had salad s regularly and as a complete meal by itself sometimes accompanied with soup (the soup story shall soon follow in another blog entry). So not wasting anymore of your precious time here is the recipe.

Asian Tofu Salad Ingredients:-

1) 1 cup of firm tofu – (tau kwa – crisply toasted in olive oil)

2) 2 mandarin oranges desseded and diced – (any sweet orange would do too)

3) 6-8 cheery tomatoes (  I used regular ones)

4) 1 cucumber sliced

5) 1 carrot sliced

6) bean sprouts

7) 1/3 cup snow peas chopped

Asian Vinaigrette: (Dressing for salad) serves 6-8 salad portions

3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoon sugar
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon ginger, fresh grated
1/2 teaspoon garlic, fresh minced
2 tablespoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon peanuts, roasted
1 tablespoon sesame seed, lightly toasted
1 tablespoon scallion, chopped (green onions)

Method:

1) Mix the vinegar, sugar, soy sauce, ginger and garlic in a food processor.

2) Slowly drizzle in the sesame oil, whisking constantly so that the dressing will emulsify.

3) Once done, add the peanuts, sesame seeds and scallions to the vinaigrette.

4) Cube the tofu and toast them crisply using olive oil.

4) Add all the cut vegetables in a salad bowl. Pour 3-4 portions(remaining can be refrigerated for upto a week) of the vinaigrette to the cut vegetables. Add the crisply toasted tofu. Close the lid and give it a good shake to mix well.

5) Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

