Fruit Chaat

Singapore is a paradise for fruit lovers and more so for me because I Live not just love but live fruits ;).  I still remember this incident while I was young and my dad took me to the family doctor and complained that I do not eat vegetables at all(not that I love them much now, but my tolerance to some of them specially brinjal, flat beans and bittergourd was very very low). The doctor just winked at me secretly and asked my dad does she eat fruits? My father for some reason blurted out that fruits was all I ate all the time. The doctor was very happy and told my dad you neednt be worried at all your daughter’s getting the nutrients she would otherwise from vegetables. Whiledad was dumbfounded not knowing what to do, I smiled away happily out of the clinic.

Anyways getting back to this refreshing snack. This is very very easy to make, quick and a complete meal by itself.

Here goes the recipe:

Fruits:-

Roughly about 500 grams of tropical fruits of your choice diced and/or scooped as melon balls.  I used bananas, apple, pears, strawberries, mangoes.

Thai Mango Sauce:-

2 ripe mangoes (medium)
1 Tbsp. soy sauce + pinch salt  to taste
4 Tbsp. good-quality (thick) coconut milk
2 Tbsp. Thai sweet chili sauce (available in most supermarkets in the Asian section)
2 Tbsp. brown sugar
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp. lime juice
1/4 to 1/2 tsp. chaat masala (from the spice aisle)

Method:-

  1. Deseed the mangoes and place the pulp in a food processor. Add all other ingredients of the thai mango sauce in the processor and blend until smooth. (Tip:- Depending upon the sweetness of the mango you may have to add some more sugar and feel free to do so 🙂
  2. This yields to about 1.5 cups.
  3. Mix 1 cup of the the sauce with fruits in a large bowl. Be gentle as to not break or squish the fruits.
  4. Drizzle the remaining sauce on top.
  5. Garnish with coriander for that indianised yet fresh flavour
  6. Serve as breakfasst, snack or dessert after dinner 😉

BON APPETIT !

3 responses to “Fruit Chaat

  1. Fruit chaat looks yummy… I love the name “Madisaar Maami”.. very cute..
    Welcome to the world of food blogging and I am sure u will make your mark very soon and reach new heights..:)) It is nice to yet another blogger from Tamil Nadu..
    Reva

Leave a Reply

