Shahi Tukri

Shahi Tukri or Double ka meetha as it known is a hyderabad specialty sweet ( and I see people staring at me saying “ya ya we know where it comes from deepa 😉 ).. So err ya, I was introduced to this delicacy by my sister-in-law back in 2009 March when I was the new bride (tamil – pudusa kalyanam aana maatu-ponnu, varanjofying kolam kaalaala) in eternal love, later realising what a fool I was, thinking life’s gonna be a paradise in heaven :))).. hahaha jokes apart lets get back to my dessert and the recipe :).

DD2 (that’s my hubby’s name from IIT(M), did you know that every person studying in IIT(m) is nicknamed and addressed with that nickname only ) loves shahi tukri / double ka meetha and given that my mom-in-law comes from the shahi city herself , explains why DD2 loves it much more than other sweets ! :)..

Yesterday was friday and as a religious follower of some family tradition I decided to cook this delicious dessert and offer as neiveidhya to my bhagawan (I’d leave you guessing with whom I meant as bhagawan, given that good girl I am ) at home 😉

So here’s the recipe. Adapted from my sister-in-law with slight modifications to suit what was available in my pantry.

INGREDIENTS:

1) Bread Slices – 8 (Milk Bread)

2) Water – 1 Cup

3) Sugar – 1 Cup

4) Evaporated Milk – 1 Cup

5) Low-Fat Milk – 1 Cup

(Note If you dont have evaporated milk / low fat milk, just use 2 cups of full cream regular milk. )

6) Rice Flour – 1 Tsp (can substitute with cornflour, as I didnt have I used rice flour)

7) Ghee for frying – approximately 100 ml

8) Toasted Nuts (badam, cashews and pistachios) – a Handful (the more the merrier)

9) Saffron Strands – 2 pinches

10) Cardamom powder – 1/2 tsp

11) Nutmeg powder – 1/2 tsp (optional but totally worth it !!!)

METHOD:

1) Remove the crumbs of the bread slices neatly with a serrated knife and slice the bread into 4 triangles.

2) Heat ghee in a pan. Deep fry bread slices until golden brown. (Note you can also shallow fry if you wish to do so.)

3) Heat water and sugar in a bowl and mix well. Add cardamom powder, nutmeg powder and 1 pinch of saffron to this. Bring to boil and remove from the stove.

4) Soak the bread slices in the sugar syrup briefly for 10 seconds and neatly arrange them in a shallow serving plate as a single layer.

5) Pour the remaining sugar syrup on top of the arranged slices in the plate.

6) Take 2 tbsp of low fat milk and mix rice flour in it. Mix the remaining low fat milk along with evaporated milk and bring to boil. Let it reduce to half its size. Now add the rice flour – milk mixture to this and constantly keep stirring until it becomes of thick pouring consistency (like rabdi)

7) Pour on top of the bread slices.

8) Dust with the toasted nuts and remaining saffron.

9) Serve immediately or chilled with ice-cream.

BON APPETIT !

One response to “Shahi Tukri

  1. wow …yummy dear…deepa this is really looking perfect…. what is DD2 abbrev for….pls tell me…

    EzCookbook
    Inviting to join Ongoing Events
    Let’s Party – Prasadam Special
    Taste Of Tropics – Authentic Indian Platter

Leave a Reply

