Vegan Bread Pudding

Vegan Bread Pudding:

This post comes after a long long gap at Dipsilicious. I am so sorry my friends that I haven’t been able to engage you well in my blog, as I was busy with a work assignment. However its over and I am back and back with a BANG!

So at the end of my work assignment I finally bought myself an OTG !!! Yea can you believe that I had been ogling a lot of those lovely people who would bake anything and everything so perfectly delicious looking for a whole year before I was able to buy the OTG, its like a dream come true for me. A lot of groundwork went in before I bought this lovely TEFAL 30 litres and I must say I am super impressed happy and begun my baking journey. I will write shortly about my 1 year digging up of info of Ovens post soon.

So it was valentine’s day and I am not a stud in cakes or puddings but DD2(my hubby) is a big time fan of bread pudding and it was his wish that I bake bread pudding without eggs ? yes and I made it dairy free as well..  Its quite not the usual that you are served vegan bread pudding however to add the element of love I added strawberries and chopped hershey kisses chocolate..

So here’s my version of the recipe , its adapted from Tarla dalal’s recipe.

Ingredients:
1) 8 slices of bread (atleast a day old)
2) 4 Tbsp butter room temperature + 11/2 Tbsp melted butter
3)  21/4 Tbsp Custard Powder ( i used bird’s custard powder can substitute with cornflour)
4) 3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp sugar
5) 2 1/4 cups rice milk (I used rice dream vanilla flavor)

6) If you dont want it to be vegan then use 2 cups regular milk and 1 Tsp vanilla essence.

7) 1/2 Cup fresh strawberries sliced

8) 1/2 cup nuts of your choice (I added raisins, walnuts and choco chips)

9) 1 Tbsp brown sugar

10) 2 pinches nutmeg powder

Method:

  1. Place rack in center of oven. Preheat oven to 350°F(180°C).
  2. Take 4 Tbsp butter and brush onto one side of each of the bread slices. Set the bread, buttered- side- up, on a large baking sheet and bake 10 to 15 minutes, or until lightly toasted.
  3. Place strawberries in a bowl and sprinkle them with 2 Tablespoons of the sugar. Toss and set aside
  4. Combine the custard powder and sugar along with ¼ cup of warm rice milk in a deep bowl and mix well till the sugar melts. Keep aside.
  5. Boil the remaining 2 cups of rice milk on a slow flame and gradually add the custard powder-sugar mixture, while stirring continuously so that no lumps remain.
  6. Mix well and cook on a slow flame for 5 minutes or till the sauce thickens and becomes smooth, while stirring continuously. Remove from the flame and keep aside.
  7. When the bread is toasted, reduce oven temp. to 325°F(160°C). and set a large roasting pan half-filled with hot water on the middle rack to act as a water bath. Trim the crusts off the bread and cut each slice of bread into cubes.
  8. Use 1 Tbsp  melted butter to grease 200 mm. (8′) diameter oven-proof glass dish and Arrange the bread cubes with the roasted side facing up.
  9. Sprinkle fresh strawberries and chopped nuts on the bread cubes and pour the sauce evenly over them.
  10. Sprinkle the brown sugar evenly on top and pour 1/2 Tbsp melted butter evenly over it.
  11. Place the dish in the roasting pan in the oven and Bake at 160°c (325°f) for 35 – 40 minutes or until the custard is just set.
  12. Remove from water bath.
  13. Serve hot garnished with nutmeg powder.

Handy tip:

  1. Since the pudding is served in the same dish in which it is baked, use a glass dish and not an aluminium baking dish.

bread pudding

Leave a Reply

